Harcourt is amongst the longest established Chambers in the Temple.
Our earliest surviving fee records go back to the early 19th century, when our members “went circuit” on the old Oxford Circuit. We are still instructed by long standing county firms from those days.
Our original home was at 4 Temple Gardens in the Temple on the ground floor, but a bomb in 1940 removed the roof and upper part of the building. A temporary covering was rigged up and we remained there until in Easter 1952 when we moved across Middle Temple Lane to our present address in the newly rebuilt Harcourt Buildings. Our old home was then demolished and its site now forms the southern end of the Middle Temple Library.
Our first woman (who is still a member of chambers – June Rodgers) was called to the Bar in 1971.
As soon as the restrictions on chambers being opened outside London were relaxed in 1989, we expanded and opened our Oxford base.
The practice areas of members have varied very widely over the years, from crime on the Oxford Circuit to even tax – Rowlatt J was a member. St John Micklethwaite of Chambers prosecuted Major Armstrong, the Hay on Wye poisoner, who has the unique distinction of being the only English solicitor to have been hanged for murder.
In 2002/3, a then member of Chambers, HH Judge Sir Gavyn Arthur, was Lord Mayor of London.
In recent decades Harcourt has become a specialist family law set serving London and beyond. Throughout the years our aim has always been to provide the highest quality service to all our clients. We pride ourselves on our approachability, commitment and integrity, the principles that have led us to grow in strength and success over the last two hundred years.